Not resolved
1.4
Details
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Price Affordability
Product or Service Quality
Turnaround Time
Value for money
4 comments

I don't believe a review should just slam a product or company so you're going to get the good and the bad in this one and you can make a call if you want to spend your hard earned money.

First the good... In the event that you need to contact someone at Monster, undeniably the best way is to reach out to their Facebook account. That person responds in a very timely fashion and gets you to the right person. That person is doing their job and deserves a pat on the back. In fact Monster makes a huge effort to promote their image and storefront, it is just a shame the delivery isn't at the same level of effort.

Secondly- I like the ordering method on the web site where I can decide all my options.

Third- they just added later hours to help those of us who aren't on the east coast, but added too late to help me.

Initially, I looked on the website for the Warranty before buying and compared it to other companies. Monster calls it a Wowanty and this is what the Wowanty page says: "We stand behind the quality of our work, offering you peace of mind that "We Build More Than Transmissions, We Build Relationships!"." Now where I come from that means if something goes wrong, we'll make it right. Here's what really happens if you buy from Monster....

Now for the bad part...

There is a Huey Lewis song that says "Sometimes bad is bad" meaning that while some people might use "bad" to mean awesome, sometimes it really does just mean "bad" as in not good. Monster calls their Warranty department the "Wowanty" department and let's just say in this case "wow" means unbelievably bad. Hence the title of this review. Here's the basic rundown:

1) For most other places you order a transmission, they are in stock and ship right away. Not Monster. They don't build it till they have an order so depending on the time of year it might be a month before it ships.

2) Monster didn't notify me the transmission had shipped and I only found out by calling and asking.

3) I paid extra for delivery to my door. Monster contracted delivery through Estes. The transmission made it to the local Estes location in 3 days, but Estes subcontracts local deliveries to someone else. That company was going to take another week before they brought it cross town to my place, so I had to go get it myself. So fee was wasted along with my time.

4) Once installed, the transmission made it 600 miles before it suddenly started over heating and left me on the side of the road.

5) After a few days going back and forth with Monster, they then had to get management approval for the warranty return and that took a couple more days. In my mind either there is a warranty or there isn't and in Monster's case you are hit with an extra delay solely because management has to approve anything before it is returned.

6) During this whole wowanty fiasco it was VERY difficult to get a response from Monster. On one occasion I was on hold for the Wowanty department five times in a row, each time eventually getting hung up on by the automated phone system because I'd been on hold for too long. Never did get a live person that day.

7) Monster informs me that the Wowanty page doesn't really cover their warranty. "Where is that" I ask.... on the "terms and conditions page" the link to which is at the very bottom in the footer of the website. Here's where you find that if there is a problem with the transmission, you are responsible for all the removal and replace costs AND the cost to send it back to Monster. Not much of a warranty- warranty is basically "you pay to send it back to us and we'll send you another back."

7) Guess what! It can now be up to another month because they don't get started on building you a replacement till they get the old one back.

8) For a company located in the heart of hurricane country they really can't support the rest of the country. We lost another week or so in the wowanty process because they had no phone lines, etc.

9) Finally got the replacement transmission and installed it. Treat it like a baby for 700 miles or so and then start having a problem with 2nd and 4th gears so we again start the Wowanty process all over again.

10) After weeks of going back and forth, Monster was only willing to either a) have me pay again to send it in and Monster rebuilds again or b) take it to a local shop for repair and Monster will pay them $50 per hour just for the rebuild part and Monster will supply the parts. Option B means I had to pay for all the removal and replacement costs and I had to pay the difference between their normal rate and the $50 amount. I went with option B because I could have my truck back in 3 days completely done and I'd have an independent person involved to tell me what they saw in the transmission.

11) To get the truck back, Monster required me to pay the full labor charge to the local tranny shop and they promised to send a check for their part to me... they did but it took weeks to get that done.

I've included pictures of the pinched seal that caused all the problems the second time around.

Had I simply gone to a local transmission place in the first place it would have cost me $2800 total for all the costs and it would have been done in 3 days.

With Monster, I was in for $2044 initially in July of last year plus my labor to install as well as about $100 for fluids. If you add all my out of pocket expenses up like paying for the local tranny shop to do the work, towing... Wow.... I'm easily above $5K and the whole process took 8 months.

The local tranny shop that did the last warranty work... They said "if there is a problem with your transmission after I rebuild it, then you bring it back and I eat all the costs to pull it , fix it and put it back in." Now that's the Wowanty I was expecting.

I absolutely would not do business with Monster again. You will loose way too much money in the process.

Review about: Transmission.

Reason of review: Warranty issue.

Monetary Loss: $3400.

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution.

I liked: Website.

I didn't like: Quality of work, Customer service, Warranty policy.

Do You Have Something To Say ?

Write a review

Comments

Terms of Service
Post Comment
Cancel
Anonymous
#1467066

Wow i almost purchased one .good thing I checked reviews .I'm peering one from a well known builder .

Anonymous
#1455892

Good Morning, let me start by saying that we appreciate the feedback. I'd like to respond / address these issues in the same numerical order.1.For most other places you order a transmission, they are in stock and ship right away.

Not Monster. They don't build it till they have an order so depending on the time of year it might be a month before it ships.Response: Most places do not build CUSTOM Transmissions. The ones that sit on the shelf are factory (stock) units2. Monster didn't notify me the transmission had shipped and I only found out by calling and asking.Response: Every client receives an automated email, including the tracking number when their unit ships.4) Once installed, the transmission made it 600 miles before it suddenly started over heating and left me on the side of the road.Response: I believe that the Tech Department would have easily handled this for you.

I apologize for inconvenience.5) After a few days going back and forth with Monster, they then had to get management approval for the warranty return and that took a couple more days. In my mind either there is a warranty or there isn't and in Monster's case you are hit with an extra delay solely because management has to approve anything before it is returned.Response: The reason that Warranty issues require Managers approval is because there have been people that have purchased vehicles with a Monster unit already in it. Many try to get their units warranted when the units were not purchased by the new owner. Warranties are not transferable.

In addition to that, we offer off site repair but that process has to be pre-approved.6) During this whole wowanty fiasco it was VERY difficult to get a response from Monster. On one occasion I was on hold for the Wowanty department five times in a row, each time eventually getting hung up on by the automated phone system because I'd been on hold for too long. Never did get a live person that day.Response: You are absolutely right, it is very difficult to get through to the Warranty Department. The Warranty Department is under staffed.

We are working on a current staffing up that department so that we can provide better service.7) Monster informs me that the Wowanty page doesn't really cover their warranty. "Where is that" I ask.... on the "terms and conditions page" the link to which is at the very bottom in the footer of the website. Here's where you find that if there is a problem with the transmission, you are responsible for all the removal and replace costs AND the cost to send it back to Monster.

Not much of a warranty- warranty is basically "you pay to send it back to us and we'll send you another back."Response: Monster does not cover the cost of removal or installation simply because the unit can be damaged during installation. We do not know the installers credentials, whether he's certified in transmissions or a backyard mechanic. It doesn't make good business sense to cover installers labor.7) Guess what! It can now be up to another month because they don't get started on building you a replacement till they get the old one back.Response: We have had clients in the past keep both units.11) To get the truck back, Monster required me to pay the full labor charge to the local tranny shop and they promised to send a check for their part to me...

they did but it took weeks to get that done.Response: Payment is made as soon as the invoice is produced. Checks take 7-10 business days (14 days max)In closing i hope that i have shed a little light on your concerns.

I would like you to call me so that we can further discuss in detail. (352) 667-6232Respectfully Submitted,Marcus

Anonymous
to Marcus Martin Operations Exec #1491353

I hope You know this guy is a terrible liar.

Anonymous
#1450983

I had a guy burning up my phone and sending me emails on a daily basis to get me to order a transmission I had inquired about and then when I was ready to order it I sent them an email and called and got zero response so boy am I glad I didn't order from them! Looks like it's local for me!

You May Also Like